Marmite Bread

I’ve definitely been slacking in both the baking and writing department, but these past few weeks I’ve had time to do both. So here it goes. Marmite bread…

Recently, I discovered the most amazing bread I think I have ever eaten, and I LOVE bread. If I could eat bread as part of meal, I would. I mean I try most days, but restrict myself. Anyway, enough about my love for bread. I found this amazing marmite bread at a local bakery, they claim to be the only bakery in the UK that makes it, BUT WHY. Everyone should get to experience the pure joy that is marmite bread, so here’s your chance. This is my take on marmite bread…

Ingredients

  • 225ml (8 fl. oz) luke warm water
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 sachet quick yeast (about 1 teaspoon)
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 400g (14 oz) strong white bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon marmite, warmed
  • 1 heaped teaspoon margarine

Method

I personally prefer to use a bread machine for the kneading and rising, because who honestly has time to do it manually.. so here is the method using a bread machine for the kneading and rising only.

  1.  Place the water, sugar and yeast in the pan of the bread machine, leave to foam for around 10 minutes
  2. Add the oil, flour and salt to the yeast mixture
  3. Select the ‘Dough’ option on your bread machine, mine takes around 1 hour 20 minutes.
  4. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a 14cm x 22cm bread/cake tin with grease-proof paper
  5. Once the kneading and rising is done, warm your marmite and margarine together (I was running out of marmite so just warmed them in the marmite jar in the microwave)
  6. Dust your surface with flour, take your dough out of the pan and stretch
  7. Stretch your dough to a rectangle that is the same width as your rectangle bread tin and as long as you can stretch it – the longer it is, the more swirls you’ll get
  8. Once your dough it stretched, spread your warm marmite/margarine mixture in an even layer, then roll
  9. Place your rolled dough in your tin, and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown

Enjoy! Best served warm, but if your house if anything like mine, it wont get the chance to go cold.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

